österreichisch · Nachspeisen

Kuerbiskern Eis (Pumpkin Seed Ice Cream)

Image

My favourite dessert whilst staying in Austria I actually stumbled upon by accident. I had been taken to a restaurant called Herlwirt, in Ligist, and was scouting out the dessert menu. I noticed that there was an ice cream with pumpkin seeds on the menu and since Styrian pumpkin seeds are so highly regarded I decided to order it. 

Shortly after my dessert arrived and I was shocked to find that not only was the ice cream sprinkled with pumpkin seeds, it was doused in pumpkin seed oil as well. Luckily I was in an adventurous mood because looking down at my green ice cream it didn’t seem to look particularly enticing.

The first thought that ran through my head was ‘why would anyone want to pour oil all over their ice cream?’ I now know the answer to that question: because it is absolutely delicious. As the ice cream slowly melts and the oil mixes in it makes for such a smooth, creamy feeling that fits perfectly with the taste of the Styrian pumpkin seed oil.

To top it off, using the pumpkin seeds and pumpkin seed oils instead of other toppings like chocolate sauce or cream makes for a healthy alternative. Some of the health benefits of pumpkin seeds and its oil can be seen here:

http://www.care2.com/greenliving/13-health-benefits-of-pumpkin-seeds.html?page=1

Kommentar verfassen

